Sweet lentils

Baking is something I have done since I was about 4 years old.  According to my mother and late grandmother, I would ask my grandmother if she wanted me to make her muffins.  Helping in the kitchen especially with the baking was my mother’s solution to my constant question asking.  If I was included in the process, I would be less annoying.  So back in the day when stand-up mixers weren’t around, I was the stand-up mixer.  I was standing on a stool and holding the electric hand-mixer.  Just like I was the remote control for the TV, but I digress.

In any case, I love to bake but I hate the calorie and fat laden recipes so I don’t do much of it anymore.  I was watching TV one day and came across this recipe that I thought was a brilliant idea and thought I should give it a try.  It’s a lentil cookie recipe by Bal Arneson.  I will make a batch of these cookies every 2 weeks or so.  These cookies are packed with good stuff.  They keep me full because of the fibre and protein content.  I’ll even use them as a meal replacement when I’m in a bind (not recommended though).  You can personalize the recipe as well with dried cranberries, blueberries, raisins, or change the nuts.  I’m going to try it coconut oil instead of butter and add a little unsweetened shredded coconut soon.

Here’s my recipe (I’ve made a few changes to the original).  Please note that I don’t flatten my cookies, I keep them mounded and ‘ugly’.

Lentil Cookies

1 cup cooked lentils, pureed/mashed (1/2 cup dry lentils to 3-4 cups water)

1/2 cup butter

1/2 organic unsweetened applesauce

1 egg

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup organic oats

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup ground organic flax seed

1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

1 cup slivered almonds

1 cup raw pumpkin seeds

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 tsp cinnamon

  1. To cook lentils, add the lentils to boiling water and simmer for about 45min.  You want them soft and if there is too much liquid at the end, just pass through a sieve.  Mash or puree the cooked lentils (does not have to be totally smooth).  Cool.
  2. Preheat oven to 375F.
  3. Once cooled, add butter, applesauce, egg, sugar, and vanilla.  Mix until smooth.
  4. Add all remaining ingredients and mix well.
  5. Spoon batter on to parchment lined cookie sheets.  Leaving about 1″ between cookies.  Depending on the size, you can make between 20-22 medium to large cookies.
  6. Bake for 15-20min.  Cool on a cookie sheet.  Once cooled, they should be quite moist and soft.
2 Comments on “Sweet lentils”

  1. yola says:

    I just made these! I altered the recipe a bit to veganize the butter and egg, I used agave nectar instead of sugar, and I used raisins instead of chocolate chips. Delicious! And my mom totally loves them too 🙂 Thanks for posting this one.

    • Adora says:

      I’m glad you liked it. What I love about this recipe is that you can use whatever nuts, dried fruit, and other sweet fixings. I think the next time I make them, I’m going use dried cranberries.


Leave a Reply

